James the Mime

Reading, Reading, Reading

I've been catching up on several new reading ventures: Conversations with Friends, The Secret History, The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store, some non-fiction, The Practice, Voices in the Ocean and I'm enjoying each one. I love reading, but I've also enjoy watching my Netflix.

My dear Cousin's birthday is today. He passed away last year of cancer. He had a wicked sense of humor. I really miss him, He was old school Irish Catholic from the Upper East Side in Manhattan and requested that his ashes be spread in Central Park. I think it's illegal to do that (imagine if everyone did that, there'd be no park left only ashes) but I'm sure no one noticed. I'm not sure I'd want my ashes spread in Central Park. I think I'd rather be spread on a mountain someplace high up. My ex used to joke that he'd flush my ashes down the toilet. My cousin loved a good solid drink, as do I. Now that I'm on my sixty day drinking fast, I always notice it's toughest at twilight. That's when I want a glass of wine or beer. I'm 1/10 of the way through my fasting. The priest in Chicago agreed to a ceremony, even though there were ashes, which is a big no-no in the Catholic Church. My auntie, who's from Texas was up in arms. I don't know if you've been seeing the drama from with the Pope and the bishop in Tyler, TX. Texas. Oy! That's another blog post altogether. She was furious the priest agreed.