James the Mime

Quit Drinking

My birthday is coming up and I've decided that I'll quit drinking for 67 days. I have a love/hate relationship with drinking. I enjoy it, but I'm sure I'd have a better quality of life if I simply didn't do it. Brian Huberman, who does a science-based podcast, has basically said there's no amount of alcohol that's good, even a glass of wine a day. Wine and beer are my weaknesses. I quit in 2024 for 90 days and while I missed my vice, it wasn't difficult. Everyone does dry January and it's the beginning of Lent season after that, so I can easily tell people I've quit for Lent. While I was in my 90 day-quitting period, I made a promise that I would quit again in the fall for 60 days (Huberman says 60 day is the minimum to re-set the nervous system - don't quote me on that).